Peace Studies

Peace Studies Librarian

  • J. Douglas (Doug) Archer
  • photo of Doug Archer, Peace Studies Librarian

  • Office Hours: Call, Write or Drop In
  • Office Location: 117A Hesburgh Library | KKL 318 Hesburgh Center
  • Contact Info:
    574-631-6656 | 574-631-8534

About this Guide

A general, introductory guide to locating resources for research and practice in the trans-/inter-/multi-disciplinary discipline of Peace Studies with special attention given to its international dimensions.

Getting Started

OneSearch

Catalogs (Books, Docs, Videos, Journals, etc.)

Catalogs generally list complete items such as books, documents, journals and videos.  Until recently they did not tend to list detailed contents such as the articles in journals and magazine or the individual essays or chapters in books.  For articles use other databases.  See other tabs for more details.  This is changing as more an more books are being published electronically.

Finding Books, etc. at Notre Dame

Books, etc. owned by Notre and area libraries will be found in these online catalogs.

The Center for Research Libraries is a library cooperative located in Chicago.  Notre Dame has been a member for many decades.  Its resouces are available to all members of the Notre Dame community but is most often used by faculty and graduate students due to the nature of its holdings.

Finding Books, etc. Anywhere

No library could possibly buy every resource of potential interest to people in international peace and confict studies.  Notre Dames certainly attempts to make available materials relevant to the ongoing interests of Notre Dame faculty and students.  To identify items that we don't own, we provide serveral additional databases.  For example:

While WorldCat and Google Books show promise of becoming truly world wide catalogs of books, they have not yet reached that goal. To expand your retrieval try using major library catalogs in appropriate countries. While there is no universal listing, these two websites are excellent.

Search Techniques

Most people are familiar with keyword searching (think Google). However, most library catalogs and commercial, subscription databases also provide a subject headings search option. This approach can be extremely helpful in many cases. Give it a try.

While the following search functions are almost universally available, their specific form will vary from database to database. The examples listed here are the most common forms. If one or more do not work in a given database, look for a Help, Information, Tips, etc. tab or label somewhere on the home page. There are often found in the upper left or right of the screen and sometimes indicated by a ? or I symbol.

In addition to phrase searching with quotation marks, many database offer proximity searching and other special features. This allows you to specify number of words that may appear between two search terms and their order. This feature can be especially helpful if you are searching in the full text of articles. For instance EBSCO databases use the following proximity operators.

A Peace Studies Canon

This is a work in progress.  While in no way authorized by the Kroc Institute it has been shared with attendees at its last two Summer Institutes for Peacebuilding.  An earlier version is appearing sequentially in the Peace Chronicle: the Newsletter of the Peace and Justice Studies Association during 2011. 

A Second Shot at a Peace Studies Canon

Catalogs (Books, Docs, Videos, Journals, etc.)

Catalogs generally list complete items such as books, documents, journals and videos.  Until recently they did not tend to list detailed contents such as the articles in journals and magazine or the individual essays or chapters in books.  For articles use other databases.  See other tabs for more details.  This is changing as more an more books are being published electronically.

Finding Books, etc. Anywhere

No library could possibly buy every resource of potential interest to everyone.  Notre Dames certainly attempts to make available materials relevant to the ongoing interests of Notre Dame faculty and students.  To identify items that we don't own, we provide serveral additional databases.  For example:

While WorldCat and Google Books show promise of becoming truly world wide catalogs of books, they have not yet reached that goal. To expand your retrieval try using major library catalogs in appropriate countries. While there is no universal listing, these two websites are excellent.

Finding Books, etc. at Notre Dame

Books, etc. owned by Notre and area libraries will be found in these online catalogs.

The Center for Research Libraries is a library cooperative located in Chicago.  Notre Dame has been a member for many decades.  Its resouces are available to all members of the Notre Dame community but is most often used by faculty and graduate students due to the nature of its holdings.

Getting Started

OneSearch

Databases

Single Subject Databases

The most frequently relevant database for locating journal articles in Peace Studies is, not surprisingly, Peace Research Abstracts (PRA).  Given that Peace Studies is a multi- or inter- or trans-disciplinary discipline, you will also want to use other single subject databases most relevant to your particular topic.  Selected relevant subject databases for Peace Studies at Notre Dame are listed below.  Additional databases are available on each discipline's "Subject Page" and through the Libraries's home page by searching under the "Databases" tab.

Multi-Subject Databases

Again, since Peace Studies involves so many discrete academic discipliens, multi-subject databases will of signigicant help. They cover fewer sources in any specific subject than single subject databases do. However, since they cross disciplinary boundaries and cover many or all subjects, they will often turn up otherwise hard to locate materials.

PRA -- THE Peace, Conflict and Justice Studies Database

Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO)

Single Subject Databases

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

Working Papers, Policy Briefs, Dissertations, etc.

These databases contain "unpublished" resources (aka "gray" literature) that can be of great value and can otherwise be difficult to locate.  They can be particularly helpful for very current analysis of very current events.

More Databases

For additional resources you can go to the Course Pages and Research Guides page, to the subject page for Peace Studies or to the All Subjects page that lists all of the academic departments and institutes at Notre Dame to select databases from another academic discipline.

Tracking Research by Tracking Citations

Increasingly academic databases are including the ability to track citations forward and backward in time to discover who is citing whom:

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables you to:

Style Manuals

The Citing Sources page offers links to guides for the most frequently used citation systems. These citation systems are available in RefWorks for the automatic creation of bibliographies. However, it's always essential to check automated output. So, even if you use RefWorks, reference to citation guides is always necessary.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

The Interlibrary Loan service is available to all members of the Notre Dame community.  If we don't own or have access to an item you need, we can usually get it for you. 

To place a request:

Please note:

For more details, go to More on ILL.

Please note that most libraries will not loan the following items though we can always try.

Document Delivery

The Hesburgh Libraries will deliver books from the Hesburgh Libraries to designated delivery locations for Faculty, Graduate Students and Staff -- with the exception of non-paper formats (videocassette, CDs, etc.), in non-circulating collections, and Reserve items.  Faculty, Staff and Graduate Students may also request photocopies of articles.  Document Deliver for books is now available to undergraduates.

Delivery of Books

Delivery of Articles

To Make Requests:

FindText and FindIt

FindText

FindText is a software program that links together our catalog and most of our databases including WorldCat. 

The FindText Link in WorldCat take you directly to the Interlibary Loan sign in page from which you can request the item in question without having to fill in the form manually.

Note:  FindIt is a feature of Catalog Classic (ND Catalog).linking catalog records to maps of the Hesburgh Libraries, WorldCat, and area libraries.

Copyright

Many questions arise every year concerning photocopying and scanning by students and faculty.  Since this is a legal question, it is impossible for a lay person (non-attorney) to give meaningful advice beyond stating some of the basic principles behind copyright. 

This page, therefore, does not provide legal advice.  For legal advice one must contact an attorney.

According to the United States Constitution (Article 1, Section 8) copyright exists "To promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts, by securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Discoveries."  Congress codified this constitutional right into law -- the latest major revision being the Digital Millenium Copright Act of 1998.

The fundamental principle:  Items in the public domain may be copied while items still under copyright may not be copied without the permission of the rights holder.

In referencing the following websites, it would be helpful to keep three vary different scenarios in mind since context can be very important in determining the legality, appropriateness, or risk of copying all or part of a particular item.  They are:

Helpful Websites

Current News Sources

U.S. Gov. Docs

Non U.S Gov. Docs

The following webpage contains several regional guides to non-U.S. governments and their  publications.

Alterately "Googling" the official or common name of the country and a topic or agency name and limiting your search to the .gov domain and the country code using the "Advanced Search" option should  usually provide a link to official publications. 

For example a search for < ("united kingdom" OR British) and foreign and site: .gov, .uk > retreives British Foreign Commonwealth Office (FCO) Home at http://www.fco.gov.uk/en as your first hit.

A list of Internet country codes is available at Internet Assigned Number Authroity (IANA) "Root Zone Database" page at http://www.iana.org/domains/root/db/ .

In addition to governemnt documents increasingly being made available on the Web, Notre Dame has several online and print collections of documents that may be found by searching Catalog Plus or Catalog Classic (ND Catalog) or by using the Databases tab on the Libraries homepage.

Sample Collections

Historical News Sources

United Nations

United Nations documents may be located online and on microfiche using Access UN and in paper using the ND Catalog or Catalog Classic.

Additional documents may located or identified at the UN and affiliate organization websites.

See Alphabetic Index of Websites of the United Nations System of Organizations for additional organizations.

IGOs

A helpful directory listing IGOs can be found in::

Open Directory

Another means of accessing IGO publications is to "Google" their name (i.e., search for the name of the group enclosed in parentheses, e.g., "european union" and then use the navigation or search system of their web site.  Reports and analysis from IGOs are often available free of charge from their websites.

NGOs

An excellent guide to locating NGOs and their documents can be found at:

Another means of accessing NGO publications is to "Google" their name (i.e., search for the name of the group enclosed in parentheses, e.g., "human rights watch" or "amnesty international") and then use the navigation or search system of their web site.  Reports and analysis from NGOs are often available free of charge from their websites since part of their mission is often to disseminate vital information to the general public.  In many cases we have older publications in paper or microfilm.

For example:

Amnesty International Country Reports

Introduction to Peace Studies

Peace Studies is a relatively new academic disicplines with its roots in post WWII Scandinavia and Indiana (yes, Indiana).  It has variously been described as a multidisiciplinary, cross-disciplinary or  transdisciplinary discipline.  At Notre Dame it draws upon the insights and resources of Political Science, Pyschology, Sociology, History, Theology/Religion, Anthropology, Economics, Philosophy and Law -- among others.  This guide introduces you to the main peace studies resources and to selected resources from these allied academic disciplines.

Facts

Reference tools provide generally agreed upon "facts" or common knowledge -- background information, the who, what, where and when -- and a bit of the how and why -- for any topic. They include subject and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, almanacs, chronologies, directories and atlases. Many, especially dictionaries and encyclopedias, are now available online. Many others, especially historical atlases and chronologies are still only available in print.

Facts - Online

Links to online referernce collections that may contain helpful sources depending on your topic.

Facts - Paper

Selected examples of print reference sources.  All titles are located in the General Reference Collection (1st floor, Hesburgh Library).  Browsing the reference collection using the examples listed below as starting points can be very effective.

Stats

Statistics are often divided into to categories, data sets that have not yet been analysed and statistical tables, charts and graphs based on data sets.  Sometimes statistical tables will link to the original data sets but more often simply cite them.

Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.

Stats - Conlict - Online

Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.

Stats - Conlict - Paper

Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.

Stats - International

Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.

Stats - U.S.

Major Sources for Domestic U.S. Statistics

Additional resources may be found from the Libraries homepage by going to Data, statistics and survey results.

Maps - Online

ONLINE

Maps - Paper

Examples of specialized atlases available in the Hesburgh Library Reference Collection.  The Libraries also have a collection of large, detailed maps published by various U.S. government agencies.

More Databases

For additional resources you can go to the Course Pages and Research Guides page, to the subject page for Peace Studies or to the All Subjects page that lists all of the academic departments and institutes at Notre Dame to select databases from another academic discipline.

Hints for International Students

Freedom and Initiate

Stereotypes of the United States as land of rugged individualism and of vast freedoms are in many ways alive and well in American libraries. For instance, not only are you free to go into the stacks (that is, the circulating collection of books and journals), you are expected to do so. Much of life is self-service and assumes that you will take the initiative. Almost all of our collections are open and available to the general public. The primary exception is Rare Books and Special Collections -- for obvious reasons. They contain rare (very expensive), often irreplaceable items. In addition items in most collections (including government documents) may be borrowed by or loaned to (checked out or charged out) by faculty and students, that is, they may be taken out of the building. And lastly at present there is no real limit as to how many items you may have charged out at any given time. The practical question is "how many books can you carry?"

Questions and Authority

Another cultural trait which sometimes takes a little getting used to is that Americans are generally quite willing to ask questions, even (some would say "especially") of those in positions of authority. Therefore it is OK to ask questions. In fact, it is expected -- at least by most people. When you are confused (and you will be confused at times, it's normal), don't hesitate to ask questions; ask for help; seek clarification. This goes for librarians and library staff and for your faculty at the Kroc Institute.

Neighborliness and Service

A close relative of this questioning mind set is a general willingness to help. It's often called neighborliness and, although visitors to a few of our largest urban centers might not always find it to be pervasive, it is still alive and well in much of the United States including Indiana. "Hoosiers" (the nickname for Indiana residents) take pride in being part of America's midwestern heartland. In general, they will go out of their way to be neighborly -- though occasionally you will find suspicion of the stranger. Of course, the level of suspicion has risen since 9/11. Expressed as service, this neighborliness is a hallmark of the Universtiy Libraries. Our staff take pride in providing excellent professional service. Please make use of it;.it will make your time with us both more productive and more enjoyable.

Graduate/Professional Life

Your expectations of study at Notre Dame will differ significantly. Your professors will articulate their expectations for your classroom work, study and research. Again, be sure to ask for clarification if you are in anyway unclear as to what will be demanded of you for any and all of your courses. Your course work is unlikely to be based on textbooks -- and the required and recommended reading lists will sometimes be daunting. The more you take advantage of the wealth of resources available in and through the Hesburgh Libraries, the better things will go for you. One of the purposes of this guide is to introduce you to that abundance of materials and provide guidance for making the most efficient and effective use of them.

Language and Terminology

We come from a variety of English language traditions -- no one, specific variety of which is the correct one. For some of us our version will be our mother tongue. For others it will be our second language (or third or fourth). Within a given national setting there may be great variety. Even within academe in America there is variation. For instance, I was a religion major as an undergraduate. A similar major at Notre Dame would be in theology yet the Kroc Institute uses the term "religion." Though these terms are not synonymous they are often used interchangably in less formal conversation.

Therefore, don't be surprised if misunderstandings arise or false conclusions are reached due to the ambiguity and fluid nature of our "common" language. Be sure to ask for clarification when something doesn't sound or feel right, when a conversation doesn't quite seem to be flowing or holding together. It might just be our choice of terms. Also, as with all professions, we librarians have our own collection of esoteric jargon (in house shortcuts). We try to avoid using it as much as possible with students and researchers but we occasionally slip up. Please feel free to question me at anytime about my selection of words or anything else.

Last Bit of Advice

Never hesitate to ask questions. When in doubt, ask! Oh, and before I forget, ASK!!!

Web Resources

[Page in Progress -- additional topics will be added.  Suggests are Welcome!]

Conflict Transformation

These selected conflict engagement/transformation/tesolution web sites each contain a wealth of information including in some cases contact information for practioners.




Related Subject Guides

Related Course Guides

comment
Subscribe to RSS RSS Feed
add to bookmark Bookmark This

Hesburgh Libraries logo

University of Notre Dame | Hesburgh Libraries

221 Hesburgh Library | Notre Dame, IN 46556

Tel: 574.631.6258 | Fax: 574.631.6772

Website feedback | Mobile version

University of Notre Dame logo

Go To Full Version