Engineering Standards

Standards and Codes

What is a Standard?

A standard is a document that establishes a rule or measure (either minimum or optimum) for quality or level of performance. A standard can be produced and/or adopted by national standards organizations, professional associations or societies, international standards organizations, or private companies. Most standards owned by Hesburgh Libraries are in the Engineering Library. Ask at the Engineering Library reference desk for assistance in finding a particular standard. The standards in the Engineering Library collection and the web resources listed are primarily engineering related.

Where do I search to find out if there is a standard on my topic?

ASTM Standards Electronic edition of nearly every ASTM book, paper, or chapter from nearly every piece of work published by ASTM. The new ASTM Digital Library provides over 30,000 papers and chapters and more than 400,000 pages of information in a self-service environment."--ASTM home page. Access info: Select "Standards and Engineering Digital Library" then click "Yes, I agree with the License".The ASTM 2009 Annual Book Standards is available in the Engineering Library Reference  (TA 401 .Am35sb). Older editions of the ASTM Annual Book of Standards are available for check out.

ACI Manuel of Concrete Practice- American Concrete Institute. Engineering Library Reference (TA 439 .A3 2010)

ASAE standards -Documents adopted by the American Society of Agricultural Engineers to meet standardization needs for agricultural field equipment, farmstead equipment, structures, soil and water resource management, turf and landscape equipment, forest engineering, food and process engineering, electric power applications, plant and animal environment, and waste management. Available only from public access computers in Hesburgh Library or any ND branch library. Path: Start/Library and Information Resources/All Titles A-Z/ASAE Standards 1999.

ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code - American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Engineering Library Reference (TJ 290. A52 1998).

Department of Energy Techincal Standards - "The DOE Technical Strandards Program promotes the use of voluntary consensus standards at DOE, manages and facilitates DOE's efforts to develop and maintain necessary technical standards, and communicates information on technical standards activities to people who develop or use technical standards in DOE."

DOD ASSIST  contains full-text Department of Defense and federal specifications and standards.

Engineering guide to LEED-new construction : sustainable construction for engineers  
by Liv Haselbach, McGraw-Hill, 2010 (TH 880.H37 2010).

IEEE-Standards and Draft Standards Association and standards developed in conjunction with or dually approved by other standards organizations are available through IEEE and includes ANSI/IEEE standards, ANSI standards,  AIEE standards and IEEE Draft Standards.

IETF Internet Engineering Task Force is a large open international community of network designers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned ... [more]

ITU-T recommendations  "International Telecommunications Union Recommendations are standards that define how telecommunication networks operate and interwork."

Knovel Standards includes a collection of standards on a variety of topics.

National green building standard : ICC 700-2008.  National Association of Home Builders, Washington, DC : 2009. (TH 880.N38 2009)

NISO Standards provides access to downloadable texts of current and draft standards for information coding and exchange, as well as links to standards maintenance organizations and related resources.

What if the Hesburgh Libraries do not have a standard that I need?
If you are a current Notre Dame faculty, staff, student or affiliate, the Hesburgh Libraries will order newer standards as needed. Contact: Engineering Librarian, Carol Brach, (631-5070) brach.10@nd.edu 

How do I order a standard if I am not affiliated with the university?

Contact the organization that developed the standard or IHS Standards Store to purchase standards.

Resources

NSSN Search standards from more than 600 developers worldwide. Inlcudes Industry and U.S. Government standards which are approved or under development

Last Update: 12 Jul 15:52