Latin American Primary Documents in English

20th century

Hesburgh Library General Collection BX 1425 .A1 P83
Puebla and Beyond: documentation and commentary /  edited by John Eagleson and Philip Scharper ; translated by John Drury.
Maryknoll, N.Y. :  Orbis Books,  [1979] Includes translation of Puebla: la evangelización en el presente y en el futuro de América Latina, documents from the third General Conference of the Latin American Episcopate, held in Puebla, Mexico, 1979.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection BX 1425 .A2 P4 1989
Path from Puebla : significant documents of the Latin American Bishops since 1979 /  Author: Cleary, Edward L.; Berryman, Phillip.
Washington, D.C. : Secretariat, Bishops' Committee for the Church in Latin America, National Conference of Catholic Bishops, 1989.

 

Microforms [Lower Level HESB] Newspaper Collection Microfilm N3 reel 1-18
New-York Daily Times.
New York : Raymond, Jones & Co., 1851-1857.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection E 377 A3d 1951
Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848.
The Diary of John Quincy Adams, 1794-1845 : American Diplomacy and Political, Social, and Intellectual Life from Washington to Polk. Edited by Allan Nevins.
New York, Scribner, 1951.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 1413 .S77 2000
Strange Pilgrimages : Exile, Travel, and National Identity in Latin America, 1800-1990’s / Ingrid E. Fey and Karen Racine, editors.
Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, 2000.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 2235.3 .A1296
Bolívar, Simón, 1783-1830.
The Political Thought of Bolivár; Selected Writings. Ed. and with introductions by Gerald E. Fitzgerald.
The Hague, Martinus Nijhoff, 1971.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection E 143 .L4 1972
Leonard, Irving Albert, 1896-
Colonial Travelers in Latin America. Edited with an introduction by Irving A. Leonard.
New York, Knopf [1972]

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 1418 .D44 1975
De Onís, José.
The United States as Seen by Spanish American Writers, 1776-1890 / by José De Onís.
New York : Gordian Press, 1975 [c1952]

 

Microforms [Lower Level HESB] General Collection Microfiche 4x6
Campbell, John, 1708-1775.
The Spanish Empire in America [microform]. Containing, a succinct relation of the discovery and settlement of its several colonies; a view of their respective situations, extent, commodities, trade, &c. ... By an English merchant.
London, M. Cooper, 1747.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 3058 .M733s En36 1809
Molina, J. Ignatius, 1737-1829.
The Geographical, Natural, and Civil History of Chili. Translated from the original Italian of the Abbe Don J. Ignatius Molina. To which are added, notes from the Spanish and French versions, and two appendixes, by the English editor.
[London] : Longman, Hurst, Rees, and Orme, 1809.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 2221 .UL4r En36 1764
Ulloa, Antonio de, 1716-1795.
A Voyage to South America.
New York, Knopf, 1964.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 2213 .St48h
Stevenson, William Bennet, b. 1787?
A Historical and Descriptive Narrative of Twenty Years’ Residence in South America, Containing the Travels in Arauco, Chile, Peru, and Colombia; with an Account of the Revolution, its Rise, Progress, and Results. By W. B. Stevenson.
London, Hurst, Robinson & Co.; [etc., etc.] 1825.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 2233 .V593 2002
Vizcardo y Guzmán, Juan Pablo, 1748-1798.
Letter to the Spanish Americans : A Facsimile of the Second English Edition (London, 1810) / Juan Pablo Viscardo y Guzmán ; with an introduction by D.A. Brading.
Providence, R.I. : John Carter Brown Library, c2002.

 

Microforms [Lower Level HESB] General Collection F 2233 .V593 2002
Dundonald, Thomas Cochrane, Earl of, 1775-1860.
The Autobiography of a Seaman. [microform]
London : R. Bentley, 1860.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 2213 .H15
Hall, Basil, 1788-1844.
Extracts from a Journal : Written on the Coasts Chili, Peru, and Mexico, in the Years 1820, 1821, 1822 / by Captain Basil Hall.
Edinburgh : A. Constable and co.; [etc., etc.], 1824.

 

London [England] : R. Nutkins, 1788-

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 1409 .M22 1999
Magical Sites : Women Travelers in 19th Century Latin America / edited by Marjorie Agosín & Julie H. Levison.
Buffalo, N.Y. : White Pine Press, c1999.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 2213 .St48h
Stevenson, William Bennet, b. 1787?
A Historical and Descriptive Narrative of Twenty Years’ Residence in South America, Containing the Travels in Arauco, Chile, Peru, and Colombia; with an Account of the Revolution, its Rise, Progress, and Results. By W. B. Stevenson.
London, Hurst, Robinson & Co.; [etc., etc.] 1825.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 2235.4 .M565
Metford, J. C. J.
San Martín, the Liberator.
New York, Philosophical Library [1950]

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 3058 .M6 1970
Miers, John, 1789-1879.
Travels in Chile and La Plata, including accounts respecting the geography, geology, statistics, government, finances, agriculture, manners, and customs, and the mining operations in Chile; collected during a residence of several years in these countries.
New York, AMS Press [1970]

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 3446 .M64
Miller, John.
Memoirs of General Miller, in the service of the republic of Peru. By John Miller.
London, Longman, Rees, Orme, Brown, and Green, 1828.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 2815 .R65 1971
Robertson, J. P. (John Parish), 1792-1843.
Letters on South America; comprising travels on the banks of the Paraná and Rio de la Plata, by J. P. and W. P. Robertson. London, J. Murray, 1843.
New York, AMS Press, 1971]

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 2675 .R547L
Robertson, J. P. (John Parish), 1792-1843.
Letters on Paraguay: comprising an account of a four years’ residence in that republic, under the government of the dictator Francia.
London, J. Murray, 1839.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 1412 R652
Robertson, William Spence, 1872-
Rise of the Spanish-American republics as told in the lives of their liberators / by William Spence Robertson ...
New York, London : D. Appleton-Century Company, 1942, c1918.

 

Microforms [Lower Level HESB] General Collection Microfiche 4 x 6
British Gentleman.
Rosas, and some of the Atrocities of his Dictatorship in the River Plate [microform] : in a letter to the Right Honourable the Earl of Aberdeen, &c. / by a British gentleman, resident in Monte Video.
London : Simmonds and Clowes, 1844.

 

Hesburgh Library Special Collections, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN.
Kay, Richard.
"Journal of a month's residence in Buenos Aires."
1819.

 

Hesburgh Library Special Collections, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN.
Palen, Rufus.
"New York to Buenos Aires."
Personal Journal. November 23, 1841-May 24, 1843.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection E 415.6 .G45 1968
Giddings, Joshua R. (Joshua Reed), 1795-1864.
Speeches in Congress.
New York, Negro Universities Press [1968]

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection E 415.7 .M223s
Maclay, William B.
A Selection of Letters Written on Various Public Occasions, by Hon. W.B. Maclay.
Washington : [n.p.] 1859.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 1418 .M316di
Manning, William Ray, 1871-
Diplomatic Correspondence of the United States:
Washington, Carnegie endowment for international peace, 1932-39.

 

Microforms [Lower Level HESB] General Collection Microfiche 4 x 6
Everett, Alexander Hill, 1790-1847.
Europe; [microform] : or, A General Survey of the Present Situation of the Principal Powers, with Conjectures on their Future Prospects / By a citizen of the United States.
Boston : O. Everett, 1822.

 

Microforms [Lower Level HESB] General Collection Microfiche 4 x 6
Mexico.
The Public Statutes at Large of the United States of America, from the Organization of the Government in 1789, to March 3, 1845 [microform] / edited by Richard Peters.
Boston : C.C. Little and J. Brown, 1845-1854.

 

Microforms [Lower Level HESB] General Collection Microfilm 4278 Non-Circulating
Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848.
Memoirs of John Quincy Adams, Comprising Portions of his Diary from 1795 to 1848.
Philadelphia, J.B. Lippincott, 1874-77.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection J 33 .G132 1832-1861
American State Papers : Documents, Legislative and Executive, of the Congress of the United States / selected and edited under the authority of Congress.
Washington: Gales and Seaton, 1832-1861.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection J 11 .A5
United States. Congress.
The Debates and Proceedings in the Congress of the United States : with an Appendix Containing Important State Papers and Public Documents, and all the Laws of a Public Nature with a Copious Index / Compiled from authentic materials.
Washington, Gales and Seaton, 1834-1856.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 2235.3 .A5 2003
Bolívar, Simón, 1783-1830.
El Libertador : writings of Simón Bolívar / translated from the Spanish by Frederick H. Fornoff ; edited with an introduction and notes by David Bushnell.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2003.

 

Microforms [Lower Level HESB] General Collection Microfiche 4 x 6
Harrison, William Henry, 1773-1841.
Remarks of General Harrison, [microform] Late Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary of the United States to the Republic of Colombia, on Certain Charges Made Against Him by that Government. To which is Added, an Unofficial Letter, from General Harrison to General Bolivar, on the Affairs of Colombia; with Notes, Explanatory of his Views of the Present State of that Country.
Washington, Printed by Gales & Seaton, 1830.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 1418 .U685 1991
United States-Latin American Relations, 1800-1850 : The Formative Generations / edited by T. Ray Shurbutt.
Tuscaloosa : University of Alabama Press, c1991.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection E 337.8 .P63
Polk, James K. (James Knox), 1795-1849.
Correspondence of James K. Polk. Herbert Weaver, editor. Paul H. Bergeron associate editor.
Nashville, Vanderbilt University Press, 1969-

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection E 302 .J3593
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826.
The Writings of Thomas Jefferson; collected and ed. by Paul Leicester Ford ...
New York [etc.] G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 1892-99.

 

Microforms [Lower Level HESB] General Collection Microfiche 4 x 6
Lowe, John, merchant.
A Letter to the Right Hon. George Canning-- on the Policy of Reognising the Independence of the South American States [microform] / by John Lowe.
London : [s.n.], 1823.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection E 337.8 .C579L 1843
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852.
The Life and Speeches of the Hon. Henry Clay ...
New York, R. P. Bixby & co., 1843.

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection E 337.8 .W373
Webster, Daniel, 1782-1852.
The Papers of Daniel Webster / Charles M. Wiltse, editor, Harold D. Moser, associate editor.
Hanover, N.H. : Published for Dartmouth College by the University Press of New England, 1974-

 

Hesburgh Library General Collection F 2235.3 .D859m
Ducoudray-Holstein, Henri La Fayette Villaume, 1763-1839.
Memoirs of Simon Bolivar, President Liberator of the Republic of Colombia,
London, H. Colburn, 1830.
Last Update: 02 Feb 08:02