Primary Source Research at Notre Dame

Primary Source Databases

The Libraries subscribe to hundreds of online databases.  Those listed below are not inclusive of all databases with access to primary sources.  The list of subject pages should be consulted for additional resopurces.

Early Published Works

American broadsides and ephemera. Series I  Offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.

Early American imprints. Series I, Evans (1639-1800)  Search or browse the content of books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints 

Early American imprints. Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)  Search or browse the content of books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints

ECCO : Eighteenth Century collections online
A comprehensive searchable digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800

EEBO : Early English books online
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700

Making of the modern world, 1450-1850  Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books from the 1460-1850 period, and pre-1906 serials, focusing on economics interpreted in the widest sense.

 Sabin online
This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
 
 Newspapers and Periodicals
 
Accessible archives  Provides selected text from early newspaper such as The  Pennsylvania gazette 1728-1800.
 
America's historical newspapers 
Allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Includes African American and Hispanic newspapers.   
  
American periodicals series online, 1740-1900 
Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals
 
British periodicals online
Full-text searchable database of articles in more than 460 periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, covering a wide range of topics

Eighteenth century journals  Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815

Nineteenth century U.S. newspapers   Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles

ProQuest historical newspapers  Full text of major English-language newspapers

Seventeenth-eighteenth century Burney Collection newspapers   Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--

Times digital archive, 1785-1985  Searchable database of full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-1985.

Vogue archive online
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images

Letters, Diaries, Papers, Reports
 
Spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.
 
Annual and quarterly financial statement data from SEC filings as well as company-supplied Annual Reports to Shareholders
 
Declassified documents reference system
Access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents
 
 
 
JFK's foreign affairs and international crises, 1961-1963   This collection provides insights into President Kennedy’s views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises 
 
Manuscript women's letters and diaries   Brings together 100,000 pages [when complete] of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts
 
 North American women's letters and diaries
Provides access to some 150,000 pages of letters and diaries of 1,300+ women writing from Colonial times to 1950.
 
 
 Visuals
 
American history in video
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history
 
Dance in video
Searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions, documentaries, editorials, interviews, performances and editorials by influential performers and companies of the 20th century
 
Mathematical Videos
Many Lectures and Workshopsheld at MSRI are captured on streaming video, and are available, along with lecture notes or slides
 
Naxos video library
A performing arts video collection with over 1,100 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places
 
Opera in video
250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries
 
Theatre in video
Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video.
 
World history in video
Provides access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
 

 

Last Update: 17 Jun 15:43