Irish Language

Sociolinguistics Indexes

  • Indexes and Databases most useful for Sociolinguistics.

    LLBA: Language and Language Behavior Abstracts
    An index with abstracts of the international literature on linguistics.  Journals, books, conference proceedings, book chapters and web sites are indexed on this database.  No articles in Irish are indexed on LLBA.

     MLA International Bibliography

    An index of language, literature, folklore and linguistics.  This resource includes books and journals in Irish, so for example, a search for “Irish” and “bilingual” with “language=Irish” brings up over 2,000 citations.

    Below is a typical page of citations on MLA. This is an index only, but the "FindText" icon provides a link to our local holdings.(see note)

    Entries from MLA including titles of articles from Teangolas

    Searching full-text databases:
    Two full-text databases that are very useful for Irish studies are JSTOR and Project Muse. While the indexes listed above will often find the same articles and link you to these sources, you may also search them separately. These searches are different as you may search for words in the text rather than indexed keywords.
    JSTOR
    Project Muse

    For more lists of useful databases, use the subject guides on the Library's website:
    Language and Literature, Irish

    *The FindText link is a great shortcut for finding articles, but if it does not find the article, you should try an old-fashioned catalog search, where you identify the name of the book/journal and type it into the catalog form yourself.

Last Update: 08 Feb 12:51 | Tagged with: Irish language sociolinguistics linguistics