Traveler's Accounts of Ireland - 19th Century
Ireland in 1804 / with an introduction by Seamus Grimes.
Dublin : Four Courts Press, c1980.
Original ed. published in 1806 in London with title: "Journal of a tour in Ireland &c. &c. performed in August 1804."
Hesburgh DA 950.1 .I74 1980
Carr, John, Sir. L'étranger en Irlande ou voyage dans les parties méridionales et occidentales de cette isle, dans l'année 1805 / par Sir John Carr, écuyer ...
Paris : Chez Leopold Collin, 1809.First French edition.
Translation: The Stranger in Ireland.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 975 .C3714 1809
Carr, John, Sir. The stranger in Ireland : or, A tour in the southern and western parts of that country, in the year 1805. By John Carr, esq. ...
London : Printed for R. Phillips, by T. Gillet, 1806.
Special Collections Rare Books Large DA 975 .C37 1806
Other editions in digital collections:
Early American Imprints: Second Series: Saw & Shoemaker.
Hoare, Richard Colt, Sir. Journal of a tour in Ireland, A.D. 1806
London : Printed for W. Miller...and for J. Archer, and M. Mahon, Dublin, 1807.
Special Collections Rare Books Large DA 975 .H67 1807
Gamble, John. Sketches of history, politics, and manners, in Dublin, and the north of Ireland, in 1810.
London, Printed for Baldwin, Cradock, and Joy, 1826.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 975 .G19 1826
Graham, William Sloan. Remains of William S. Graham. With a memoir. Ed. by George Allen. Philadelphia, J. W. Moore, 1849.
Digital copy: Sabin Americana.
Trotter, John Bernard. Walks through Ireland in the years 1812, 1814 and 1817; described in a series of letters to an English gentleman.
London: Sir R. Phillips and col., 1819.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 975 .T756w
Gamble, John. A view of society and manners, in the north of Ireland, in the summer and autumn of 1812.
London: Cradock & Joy, 1813.
Digital copies in the Internet Archive
Curwen, J. C. Observations on the state of Ireland principally directed to its agriculture and rural population in a series of letters written on a tour through that country.
London: Baldwin, Cradock & Joy, 1818. 2 volumes.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 975 .G67 1817
A tour in Ireland in 1813 & 1814 ... By An Englishman. [Library catalog lists John Gough as the author, but C. J. Woods states that the author is John Alexander Staples.]
Dublin: Napper for Gough & Co., [1817?]
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 975 .G67 1817
Plumptre, Anne. Narrative of a residence in Ireland during the summer of 1814, and that of 1815.
London: Printed for H. Colburn, 1817.
Special Collections Rare Books Large DA 975 .P73 1817
Griscom, John. A year in Europe. Comprising a journal of observations in England, Scotland, Ireland, France, Switzerland, the north of Italy, and Holland. In 1818 and 1819. 2 vols.
New York: Collins, 1823.
Digital copies in the Internet Archive.
Reid, Thomas. Travels in Ireland in the year 1822 : exhibiting brief sketches of the moral, physical, and political state of the country : with reflections on the best means of improving its condition.
London: Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, 1823.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 975 .R35 1823
Pückler-Muskau, Hermann, Fürst von. Tour in England, Ireland, and France, in the years 1828 & 1829; with remarks on the manners and customs of the inhabitants, and anecdotes of distinguished public characters. In a series of letters. By a German prince.
London, E. Wilson, 1832.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 625 .P961b En36 1832
Montalembert, Charles Forbes, comte de. Journal intime inédit / Charles de Montalembert ; texte établi par Louis Le Guillou et Nicole Roger-Taillade ; présenté et annoté par Nicole Roger-Taillade.
Paris: Editions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1990-
Vol. ii (1990), pp 59-109: Ireland.
Hesburgh DC 255 .M7 A3 1990
Edgeworth, Maria. Tour in Connemara and The Martins of Ballinahinch. Edited by Harold Edgeworth Butler.
London: Constable, 1950.
Hesburgh PR 4644 .T68 1950
Inglis, Henry D. (Henry David). A journey throughout Ireland, during the spring, summer, and autumn of 1834.
London: Whittaker, 1836.
Special Collections Rare Books Small DA 975 .In4j 1836
Graham, Robert. A Scottish Whig in Ireland, 1835-1838 : the Irish journals of Robert Graham of Redgorton / Henry Heaney, editor
Dublin: Four Courts, 1999.
Hesburgh DA 975 .G734 1999
Barrow, John. A tour round Ireland, through the sea-coast counties, in the autumn of 1835.
London: J. Murray, 1836.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 975 .B37 1835
Charlotte Elizabeth. Letters from Ireland, MDCCCXXXVII.
New York: Baker and Scribner, 1846.
Special Collections Rare Books Small PR 5671 .T25 L48
Other edition (1838) in digital format: British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries.
Also: Hesburgh DA 975 .T666
Otway, Caesar. A tour in Connaught comprising sketches of Clonmacnaois, Joyce Country and Achill.
Dublin: Curry, 1839.
Hesburgh DA 990 .C6 O9 1839
Thackeray, William Makepeace. The Irish sketch book, by Mr. M. A. Titmarsh. With numerous engravings on wood drawn by the author.
London: Chapman and Hall, 1845.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium PR 5613 .I7 1845
Other edition (1843), Special Collections, Rare Books Medium PR 5613 .I7 1843
Kohl, Johann Goerg. Travels in Ireland. Translated from the German.
London: Bruce and Wyld, 1844.
Hesburgh DA 975.K6
Nicholson, Asenath. Ireland's welcome to the stranger; or, An Excursion through Ireland in 1844 & 1845, for the purpose of personally investigating the condition of the poor.
New York: Baker and Scribner, 1847.
Hesburgh DA 975 .N62 1847
Nicholson, Asenath. The Bible in Ireland, edited by Alfred Tressider. New York: John Day, 1927. Hesburgh DA 975 .N52b
Nicholson, Asenath. Ireland's welcome to the stranger, edited by Maureen Murphy. Dublin: Lilliput Press, 2002. Hesburgh DA 975 .N62 2002
Fisher, Lydia Jane Leadbeater. Letters from the kingdom of Kerry, the year 1845.
Dublin: Webb and Chapman, 1947.
Digital copy in British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries.
Foster, Thomas Campbell. Letters on the condition of the people of Ireland. Reprinted, by permission with additions and copious notes, from "The Times" newspaper.
London: Chapman and Hall, 1847.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 975 .F817L 1847
Nicholson, Asenath. Annals of the famine in Ireland, in 1947, 1848, and 1849.
New York: E. French, 1851. Being pt. III, enlarged, of the author's Lights and shades of Ireland, London, 1850.
Nicolson, Asenath. Annals of the famine in Ireland. Edited by Maureen Murphy.
Dublin: Lilliput Press, 1998.
Balch, William S. Ireland, as I saw it: the character, condition, and prospects of the people.
New York: Putnam, 1850.
Digital copy in the Internet Archive
Doheny, Michael. The felon's track: or, History of the attempted outbreak in Ireland, embracing the leading events in the Irish struggle from the year 1843 to the close of 1848. with, D'Arcy M'Gee's narrative of 1848, a preface, some account of the author's contemporaries, an index, and illustrations.
Dublin: Gill, 1918.
Hesburgh DA 950.5 .D68 f
Carlyle, Thomas. Reminiscences of my Irish journey in 1849.
London: Low, Marston, 1882.
Hesburgh DA 975 .C35 1882
Osborne, Sidney Godolphin, Lord. Gleanings in the west of Ireland.
London, T. & W. Boone, 1850.
Hesburgh DA 975 .O83 1850
Ashworth, John Hervey. The rambles of an Englishman in the West; or, The Sazon in Ireland.
Boston: Patrick Donahue, [185-?]
Microforms IND 98-6004-3
Greeley, Horace. Glances at Europe: in a series of letters from Great Britain, France, Italy, Switzerland & c., during the summer of 1851.
New York: Dewitt & Davenport, 1851.
Hesburgh D 919 .G814g
Forbes, John, Sir. Memorandums made in Ireland in the autumn of 1852.
London: Smith, Elder, 1853.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 975 .F744m
Head, Francis Bond, Sir. A fortnight in Ireland.
London: Murray, 1852.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 975 .H34f
See also Contemporary observations of Ireland from Grattan to Griffith, vol. 3. Hesburgh DA 950 .C658 2000.
Haskins, George Foxcroft. Travels in England, France, Italy, and Ireland.
Boston: P. Donahoe, 1856.
Hesburgh D 919 .H278t
Howard, John Eliot. The Island of saints: or, Ireland in 1855.
London: Seeleys, 1855.
Special Collections Rare Books Small DA 975 .H834i 1855
Hole, S. Reynolds. A little tour in Ireland. Being a visit to Dublin, Galway, connamara, Athlone, Limerick, Killarney, Glengarriff, Cork, etc. etc. By an Oxonian. with illustrations by John Leech.
London: Bradbury and Evans, 1859.
Special Collections Rare Books Small DA 975 .H654
Barry, William Whittaker. A walking tour round Ireland in 1865. By an Englishman.
London: R. Bentley, 1867.
Hesburgh DA 975 .B275
Tuke, James H. Irish distress and its remedies: the land question; A visit to Donegal and Connaught in the spring of 1880.
London: Ridgeway, 1880.
Hesburgh HD 625 .T94 1880
Joynes, J. L. The adventures of a tourist in Ireland.
London: Kegan Paul, 1882.
Hesburgh 625 .T94 1880
Blunt, Wilfrid Scawen. The land war in Ireland: being a personal narrative of events, in continuation of "A secret history of the English occupation of Egypt".
London: Herbert and Daniel, 1913.
Hesburgh D 623 B628
Bovet, Marie Anne de. Three months' tour in Ireland, by Madame de Bovet, translated and condensed by Mrs. Arthur Walter.
London: Chapman and Hall, 1891.
Hesburgh DA 975 .B694 1891