Music Research : The Basics

Basic Online Resources

Oxford Music Online - contains the Grove Encyclopedia which should always be the first place to go to start your research.

Articles

Tips:

  • Use the "Find Text" link to find the article in another online database or in print at our library. If there isn't a "Find Text" link, it does not mean we do not have it, only that the functionality does not work. Search the catalog normally for these titles.
  • Use the "Advanced Search" feature in these databases to filter out book/concert reviews and articles in specific languages.

JSTOR - A good starting point. Covers major journals in English and contains digitized images of journal articles as downloadable PDF files.

RILM Abstracts - Indexed articles from music periodicals from 1967 to the present. Covers Anglo-American publications as well as Continental Europe. The best place for more in-depth academic work.

Music Index - Indexed articles from music magazines and periodicals from 1972 to the present, primarily in English. Similar to RILM, but covers more trade publications (ex: Strings magazine) and less foreign journals.

International Index to Music Periodicals - Covers periodicals from over 20 countries, with some indexed back to 1874. Coverage overlaps with Music Index and RILM, but includes many older sources not included in the others.

RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals: excellent for older journals, especially in foreign languages.

Sound Recordings

Naxos Music Library - Contains over 60,000 albums from multiple genres in streaming audio.

Classical Music Library - Contains over 7,000 albums from major classical labels.

 

Last Update: 24 Aug 23:45 | Tagged with: music musicology music history music theory