INSPIRE Indiana's Virtual Library
The State of Indiana provides free online access to all the citizens of Indiana to a number of educational databases that would only be available on a paid subscription basis.
The databases can be searched individually or all at the same time via this link. Individual database titles are of primary interest to science educatiors are in the following list:
Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. and currently counting 3,834 full text scholarly publications.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition provides access to more than 100 full text journals covering such disciplines as clinical medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
eBook Collection a selection on a variety of subjects provided by EBSCO.
EBSCO Image Collection is a little tricky to search. It's best to scroll down the search page and check the box for "image quick view" to get thumnails of images.
Gale Virtual Reference Library allows searching in major subject headings such as "environment" or "science".
GreenFile offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Health Reference Center -- Academic integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books.
Indiana.gov Indiana's public information portal, IN.gov, is the official Internet resource for all of that state's government business.
MAS Ultra™ - High School Edition comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for more than 700 popular high school magazines.
MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for more than 1,900 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc.
Science in Context for students, the Science Resource Center is an in-depth, curriculum-oriented science database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. The Science Resource Center reflects curriculum trends and focuses on key concepts taught in school classrooms.
TOPICseach This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
Note: Databases highlighted in bold are recommended.
Permanent URL to this site: http://guides.library.nd.edu/subject-guide/144-High-School-Science-Teachers-Guide