Architecture - Rome Library

Sign Up for ILL

Students studying in Rome have access to all of the online resources at Notre Dame. Articles and book chapters (less than 10% of the whole volume) not available in full-text online can be scanned and emailed to you. Please register for Inter Library Loan and take advantage of the service!
Register for Inter Library Loan

Search Databses for Articles

Complete List of Relevant Databases

Art full text (EBSCO) View Full RecordND-onlyFull Text ResourceND Catalog Record
Indexes and abstracts international periodicals, art dissertations, and art reproductions. Provides full-text articles for select journals. Areas covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, Interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, video.

Art index retrospective (EBSCO) View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
Cumulates citations to the printed version Art Index, vols. 1-32 (1929-1984), citing articles from periodicals published worldwide, yearbooks, museum bulletins, and indexing reproductions of works of art appearing in indexed periodicals. Topics include archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, decorative arts, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, and sculpture.


ARTbibliographies modern View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
ABM abstracts journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on modern and contemporary art (dating from the late 19th century onwards) including photography, performance art, video art, computer and electronic art, theater arts, etc., as well as painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.


Avery index to architectural periodicals View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
Searchable database with listings of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.


BHA and RILA View Full RecordFree ResourceND Catalog Record
Covers European and American art from late antiquity up to 2007. Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from more than 1,200 periodicals. From the databases Bibliography of the history of art and Repertoire international de la litterature de l'art.

Bibliography of the history of art (see BHA and RILA) View Full RecordFree Resource


Index of Christian art database View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
Based on The index of Christian art, a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects to 1400 begun at Princeton University in 1917. The database contains records of works indexed by the archive since 1991. No images are presently available.

International medieval bibliography View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays.


JSTOR View Full RecordND-onlyFull Text Resource


LexisNexis academic View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications, covering current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.


Oxford art online View Full RecordND-onlyFull Text ResourceND Catalog Record
Provides a single gateway to access images of art works, biographies of artists, and articles from Grove Art Online (based on the 34-volume Dictionary of Art); Oxford University Press' art reference publications Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms; and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.


Perseus Project: Art and Archaeology. View Full RecordFree ResourceND Catalog Record
Presents the art and archaeology section of the Perseus Project at Tufts University in Medford, Massachusetts. Contains a search engine for the Project. Notes that the Project contains a library of classical art objects, sites, and buildings. Allows users to search the Project for architecture, coins, vases, and sculpture.


RIBA Library View Full RecordFree ResourceND Catalog Record
The Royal Institute of British Architects' British Architectural Library is the largest and most comprehensive resource in the United Kingdom for research and information on all aspects of architecture. The RIBA library catalogue is a searchable database of more than 200,000 records, with abstracts, describing journal articles, books, drawings, photographs, manuscripts and archives.

Where to Begin

Avery index to architectural periodicals View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
Searchable database with listings of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.

Art full text (EBSCO) View Full RecordND-onlyFull Text ResourceND Catalog Record
Indexes and abstracts international periodicals, art dissertations, and art reproductions. Provides full-text articles for select journals. Areas covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, Interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, video.

DAAI: Design and applied arts index View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
Covers development of design and applied arts since mid-19th century, including architecture, crafts, industrial design, fashion and textiles, furniture an interior design, sustainable design, and landscape architecture.

RIBA Library View Full RecordFree ResourceND Catalog Record
The Royal Institute of British Architects' British Architectural Library is the largest and most comprehensive resource in the United Kingdom for research and information on all aspects of architecture. The RIBA library catalogue is a searchable database of more than 200,000 records, with abstracts, describing journal articles, books, drawings, photographs, manuscripts and archives.

Last Update: 19 Nov 11:21