Education, Schools and Society

Education Quicksearch

Search multiple education databases simultaneously:

Additional Databases

Use the databases below to find journal articles, book chapters, and other scholarly publications on education topics.

Education Abstracts Full Text

Indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks on education; also indexes English-language books relating to education. Includes selected full text. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.

Educational Administration Abstracts

Provides indexing and abstracting of journal articles "... covering essential areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline."

Google Scholar

Access to scholarly articles and books on a variety of topics.  Full text articles can be accessed using FindText links in the database.  Google Scholar also provides "Cited By" information, so you can find out who has cited a specific article or book.

PsycINFO

Provides access to scholarly articles from thousands of journals in the field of psychology.

Catholic Periodical Literature Index

Searches more than 170 Roman Catholic periodicals, papal documents, and more.  This index includes access to articles about Catholic Schools.

Click here to find more article databases that index the literature of education and related social sciences.

Reference Resources

This is a good place to start for background information on a topic. You can find encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, directories and other reference materials in the Reference Collection, located on the first floor of the Hesburgh Library to the right of the Information Desk. You can search a subset of the ND Catalog (Hesburgh Library Reference Collection) to find print reference sources.

Here are some electronic reference titles that might be useful:

Encyclopedia of Education

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration

Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology

Encyclopedia of Educational Technology

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education

The Educator's Reference Desk

Also, you can use Reference Universe to find just the right article(s) to begin your research, build a bibliography and establish a solid research foundation. This online database searches the complete indexes of more than 10,000 reference titles. Nearly 2,000 of these titles are online editions.

Relevant Websites

Common Core State Standards Initiative - This website outlines the strategy behind the development of the common core standards and provides links to the relevant state level information.

US Government Sources

Data from US Government departments

American FactFinder

Find fast facts from census data

BRFSS- CDC's Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the world's largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984.

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)

To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to Federal, State, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject

BLS data by topic, etc.

Census Bureau Home Page

US Census Bureau

Childstats.gov

The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, or the Forum, is a working group of Federal agencies that collect, analyze, and report data on issues related to children and families. The Forum has partners from 22 Federal agencies as well as partners in private research organizations.

Current Population Survey (CPS)

The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The survey has been conducted for more than 50 years.

Data.gov

The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.

Economic Census

Economic Census of the United States

FedStats

FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.

FRB: Economic Research & Data

Data from the Federal Reserve

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Research Data Center at the Center for Disease Control

Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)

The main objective of SIPP is to provide accurate and comprehensive information about the income and program participation of individuals and households in the United States, and about the principal determinants of income and program participation.

The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System - Home Page

The primary source for data on colleges, universities, and technical and vocational postsecondary institutions in the United States

The National Archives - Access to Archival Databases

Information on the US, wars, businesses, people, places, etc. back to 1800.

TradeStats Express™

Get the latest annual and quarterly trade data with TradeStats Express.
Retrieve, visualize, analyze, print and download your customized output.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) - bea.gov Home Page

BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau and STAT-USA, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration.

USA Counties

USA Counties features over 6,500 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources. 

USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade Database

The USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data to the public full-time and free of charge. 

Education Overview

The Hesburgh Libraries provide a number of services designed to support your teaching and research.  Try the tabs above for a variety of resources.

1. The Ask-A-Librarian service can provide immediate assistance from a librarian via chat, email, text message, phone, or in person.

2. Need in-depth assistance?  The Education librarian will arrange office hours for research consultation by request. Need assistance while working in the Libraries? Stop by Room 205 Hesburgh Library or email Mandy Havert to set up an appointment. If you are an ACE program member and need remote assistance, we can work together by phone or chat.

Additionally, these subject pages might be of interest, depending on your specific topic.

 

ERIC - Recommended

ERIC- Education Resources Information Center

Department of Education Version

EBSCO version

Provides article citations and abstracting to more than 750 educational journals, related documents from the Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC), and educational symposium report literature. Selected full text articles available for thousands of ERIC digest records.

Use the Thesaurus to help identify & combine your search terms!

Connect to Services

The Hesburgh Libraries provide a number of services designed to support your teaching and research. 

1. The Ask-A-Librarian service can provide immediate assistance from a librarian via chat, email, text message, phone, or in person.

2. Need in-depth assistance?  The Education librarian will arrange office hours for research consultation by request. Need assistance while working in the Libraries? Stop by Room 205 Hesburgh Library or email Mandy Havert to set up an appointment. If you are an ACE program member and need remote assistance, we can work together by phone or chat.

3. Contact Mandy Havert, for research assistance, purchase requests, or any library or research related questions. 

 

APA Style

APA Style Crib Sheet (6th edition)
Commonly used reference formats from the APA style manual. 

APA Exposed - Online Tutorial
An online tutorial developed by Harvard's Gutman Library Writing Services and the Learning Technologies Center. It provides in-depth information on formating citations in APA style.

APA Style Help Page
Helpful links from the American Psychological Association.

RefWorks
A web-based bibliographic management tool that enables you to format your footnotes and bibliographies and store references in a personal database online.

The 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual is also available at the Information desk on the 1st floor of Hesburgh Library.  Call number: BF 76.7 .P83 2010

Purdue Online Writing Lab - APA Style - This information is recommended by the University Writing Center to support your quick lookup needs.

Last Update: 31 Jan 10:00 | Tagged with: education schools society poverty educational psychology