Nineteenth Century

BOOK DATABASES


British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries
.

Includes The Letters of William and Dorothy Wordsworth, among others.

HathiTrust.

“…a digital preservation repository that includes over ten million volumes from partner library collections, digitized as part of the Google Books project, the Internet Archive project, or by individual partner libraries. The HathiTrust collection is full-text searchable, and includes about two million volumes in the public domain that may be viewed online. Partner library users can download these public domain titles as complete ebooks.” A major advantage of using this database over Google.Books is the presence of precise catalog records, including Library of Congress subject headings.


Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
.

"includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. ... also offers numerous biographical and critical essays prepared by leading scholars specifically for the project."--Publisher's description.


Nineteenth-Century Fiction (LION)
.

Contains 250 novels by more than one hundred authors from the period of 1782 to 1903.

The Romantic Age.

Includes Oxford University Press’s published correspondence of Jane Austen, William Blake, Fanny Brawne, Robert Burns, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Maria Edgeworth, David Ricardo, Percy Shelley, Sydney Smith, Robert Southey, Edward Trelawny, William Turner, Samuel Wesley. Also The Collected Letters of Samuel Taylor Coleridge.


Romanticism Redefined
.

“A searchable collection of Romantic-era literature of canonical and previously unrecognized writers from Britain, the British Empire, and North America, with focus on the period between 1800 and 1830. Contains numerous sets by Pickering & Chatto reprinting English texts published from the 1770s to 1830s. Also, includes full text of the journal, The Wordsworth Circle (1970- ).”


Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
.

“In addition to 60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, the database includes extensive contemporary critical reviews and numerous scholarly essays specially commissioned for the project by Alexander Street Press.” – Publisher’s description.


Victorian Women Writers Project
.

Created by Indiana University, this web site contains the works of “lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.”

Last Update: 04 Feb 12:02