EIGHTEENTH CENTURY: A RESEARCH GUIDE

WORKS OF INDIVIDUALS

The Eighteenth Century.

A full-text database that contains 48 volumes of correspondence of important figures in eighteenth century England published by Oxford University Press.

 

Papers of Jonathan Swift in Part 2 (reels 15-30)

“18th Century Manuscripts” of The Forster and Dyce Collections from the National Art Library at the Victoria and Albert Museum. Microforms [Lower Level HESB] General Collection Microfilm G693

 

Politics in the Age of Revolution, 1715-1848. Part 1.

The Papers of Edmund Burke, 1729-1797, from Sheffield City Libraries and Northamptonshire Record Office. Microfilm G1499.

 

The Romantic Age. 

 A full-text database that includes Oxford University Press’s published correspondence of Jane Austen, William Blake, Fanny Brawne, Robert Burns, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Maria Edgeworth, David Ricardo, Percy Shelley, Sydney Smith, Robert Southey, Edward Trelawny, William Turner, Samuel Wesley. See also The Collected Letters of Samuel Taylor Coleridge.

 

Romanticism Redefined.

“A searchable collection of Romantic-era literature of canonical and previously unrecognized writers from Britain, the British Empire, and North America, with focus on the period between 1800 and 1830. Contains numerous sets by Pickering & Chatto reprinting English texts published from the 1770s to 1830s. Also, includes full text of the journal, The Wordsworth Circle (1970- ).”

 

Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period.

“In addition to 60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, the database includes extensive contemporary critical reviews and numerous scholarly essays specially commissioned for the project by Alexander Street Press.” – Publisher’s description.

 

Women, Education, and Literature: The Papers of Maria Edgeworth, 1768-1849. Microfilm G1485.

 

Samuel Johnson & James Boswell.

The complete works of Samuel Johnson in the Yale Johnson series and rare editions from the British Library; the critical edition of James Boswell's Life of Johnson edited by L. F. Powell; The Hypochondriac, additional letters, and essays." CD?ROM. Hesburgh Library Circulation Desk PR 3539 .J22 A11 1997.

Last Update: 13 Feb 11:31