Newspapers: A Research Guide

Digital Historical Newspapers

Accessible archives Provides selected text from newspaper these collections: Pennsylvania gazette 1728-1800; The Civil War: a newspaper perspective (Nov. 1860-Apr. 1865); African American newspapers: the 19th century; The Liberator (1831-1865).

 America's historical newspapers Full text of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.  Also includes  African American newspapers, 1827-1998 ,  Hispanic American newspapers, 1808-1980 and 20th century American newspapers

 Chronicling America Home Library of Congress site that allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Irish newspaper archives Searchable and browseable database of Irish newspapers, with both historical and current content.

Nineteenth century British Library newspapers  Full text of full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain.

 Nineteenth century U.S. newspapers contains digital facsimile images of newspapers presented as full page layout as well as single articles. 

 Paper of record   Archive of full-page newspaper images created from newspaper collections on microfilm, preserving the original  format of the paper. Includes U.S., Canadian and foreign newspapers.

Proquest Historical Newspapers Collection of full-text, full image newspapers from major U.S. cities, some European and 1 Indian. 

 Richmond Daily Dispatch, 1860-1865

 Seventeenth-eighteenth century Burney Collection newspapers Full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).

Shen bao  (1872-1949), known in English as Shanghai News, was one of the first modern Chinese newspapers. The Shen Bao Digital Archive includes a complete run of this newspaper.

 Times digital archive, 1785-1985  A complete digital archive of The Times (London), including every article, advertisement and illustration.

World Newspaper Archive    A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe:
  • African Newspapers   More than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
  • South Asian Newspapers  Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
  • Latin American Newspapers More than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.

Historical Newspapers Print

 Print: 

The Hackenbruch Collection of American and British Newspapers is available in the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections. The Hackenbruch collection contains 2,247 newspaper issues whose front pages were of historical import. The earliest were printed in London in the late seventeenth century. While most are single issues, there is a run of The London Chronicle for the last four months of 1774 and a run of The Kentish Post, or Canterbury Newsletter from July 28, 1733, to January 23, 1742, with gaps. The rest were printed in cities around the United States from the eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.

There are many newspapers in print format, often incomplete runs or scattered issues that can be located through  Catalog Classic by clicking on  the yellow tab More; selecting link Newspapers, then Advanced search.  Use the drop down menu for Format, select Serials (journals newspapers, etc.) and from drop doen menu for Location and select Hesburgh.

 

Historical Newspapers on Microfilm

 Many newspaper titles are available on conventional reels of microfilm in the lower level of Hesburgh Library.  Go to Catalog Classic , click on  the yellow tab More; select link Newspapers, then Advanced search.  Use the drop down menu for Format, select Microform; also use drop down menu for Location and select Hesburgh Microforms.  You can use keywords to focus your search.  The result can be sorted to display in chronological order.  While the sort can be less than 100% accurate, you can still produce a usable list of microfilmed newspapers published within the recent past.  Illustration
Last Update: 17 Jun 15:42 | Tagged with: Journalism Social science research Humanities research history