Maps and Services Guide -- Hesburgh Libraries

Other Digital Maps and Data

The Hesburgh Libraries provide access to many other digital maps and data.

A-Z Maps Online contains 4,000+ maps of continents, countries, and states as well as political, population, climate, and other thematic maps.

American Memory Map Collections  Library of Congress map collections. Part of the American Memory project.

ArcGIS Online is a free image Service from ESRI including Imagery, Street Data, Topographic Maps, Physical Maps, Shaded Relief Imagery, Boundaries, and more.

CEGIS is the USGS Center of Excellence for Geospatial Information Science (CEGIS). The CEGIS vision is to conduct, lead, and influence the research and innovative solutions required by the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI) and the emerging GeoSpatial Web. (CEGIS)

CIA World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Includes maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970 includes more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.

EOSDIS NASA’s Earth Data Website. The Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) is a major core capability within NASA’s Earth Science Data Systems Program. EOSDIS ingests, processes, archives and distributes data from a large number of Earth observing satellites. EOSDIS consists of a set of processing facilities and Earth Science Data Centers distributed across the United States and serves hundreds of thousands of users around the world, providing hundreds of millions of data files each year covering many Earth science disciplines. 

Google Earth  Free high resolution mapping software with satellite imagery. Download of “Google Earth” required.

Geodata.gov provides federal state and local geographic data.

GIS Atlas for Indiana  Online atlas providing information on demographics, hydrology, elevation, geology, mining and much more for the state of Indiana.

Google maps provides directions and satellite imagery.

Indiana mapping websites provides interactive mapping sites run by federal, state and local governments, and regional organizations.

Indiana Department of Transportation County maps includes maps of Indiana Counties.

Indiana Department of Transportation City maps includes maps of major Indiana cities: Anderson, Bloomington, Calumet, Columbus, Evansville, Falls City Area, Fort Wayne, Indianapolis, Kokomo, Lafayette, Michigan City, Muncie, Richmond, and South Bend.

Indiana Department of Transportation maps and other publications include links to: Road Construction Maps, INDOT District/Sub district maps, Indiana State Map, Indiana Radar Map, and the Indiana Satellite Map.

Library of Congress Geography & Map Reading Room The Geography and Map Division (G&M) has custody of the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world with collections numbering over 5.5 million maps, 80,000 atlases, 6,000 reference works, over 500 globes and globe gores, 3,000 raised relief models, and a large number of cartographic materials in other formats, including over 38,000 CDs/DVDs. The online Map Collections represents only small fractions that have been converted to digital form. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are in public domain, meaning those which are not covered by copyright.

National Atlas of the United States Designed to provide a reliable summary of national-scale geographical information. Provides free printable maps of the 50 states with Congressional districts, topographic maps, and digital cartographic data.

National Geophysical Data Center (NOAA) provides Ocean Depths, Coastal Maps and Tsunami inundation, Topography and Relief data.

National Geospatial Program provides links to major portals for geospatial products provided by the federal government.

The National Map: Historical Quadrangle Scaning Project contains all editions and all scales of USGS topographic quadrangles with over 200,000 maps spanning 1884-2006.

National Geospatial Program provides links to major portals for geospatial products provided by the federal government.

SEDEC NASA Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC) – Hosted by CIESIN at Columbia University. SEDAC focuses on human interactions in the environment. Its mission is to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and Earth science data and to serve as an "Information Gateway" between the Earth and social sciences.

St. Joseph County Maps provides maps of St. Joseph County.

U.S. Gazeteer provides U.S. places, counties, county subdivisions, and census tracts.

United Nations Environmental Data Explorer provides international data. Data can be displayed on a map, with a graph, in a table, or downloaded.


 

Last Update: 18 Mar 14:28 | Tagged with: Flat Maps maps USGS