Datasets & Statistics

This Page No Longer Maintained

The Datasets & Statistics guide has moved to a new location. Please update your bookmarks accordingly.

International Data Sources

Jump to a topic:
Africa | Asia | Latin America | Europe | Ireland | Other/Inter-Regional

Africa

AfriPop

Detailed and freely-available population distribution maps for the whole of Africa.

Asia

AsiaPop

Detailed population distribution maps for Asia.

China Data Online (ND-Only)

China statistical data compilation (ND-only)

Provides comprehensive statistics on China since 1949, at both the national and provincial levels, for some 300 indicators. Available on CD-Rom at the Hesburgh Library Reserve Book room on a three-day loan.

Japanese Data Archive Home Page (ND-only)

Japanese opinion data from the Roper Center

Latin America

Latin American Databank (ND-only)

The Latin American Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms. 

Europe

European Commission on Public Opinion

Since 1973, the European Commission has been monitoring the evolution of public opinion in the Member States, thus helping the preparation of texts, decision-making and the evaluation of its work.
Surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc.

Eurostat Home

European statistics from the European Union.

Ireland

CSO - Central Statistics Office Ireland

Irish Social Science Data Archive

National Archives: Census of Ireland 1911

The household returns and ancillary records for the censuses of Ireland of 1901 and 1911, which are in the custody of the National Archives of Ireland, represent an extremely valuable part of the Irish national heritage.

Northern Ireland Neighborhood Information Service

Other Regions & Inter-Regional

Center for International Data at UC Davis

The U.S. and world trade data is made available through grants from the National Science Foundation to the National Bureau of Economic Research.

CPOLL Databank of Canadian Public Opinion Prototype (ND-only)

The Roper Center at the University of Connecticut and the University of Toronto, supported in part by a grant from the Canadian Embassy, have partnered to launch a pilot project to make Canadian opinion data more easily accessible to researchers around the globe. The CPOLL prototype of this project is now available for exploration and comment from the research community.

Donnees Ouvertes

Quebec's central website for provincial data.

International Monetary Fund - Data and Statistics (ND-only)

IMF's International Financial Statistics

International Monetary Fund Data Mapper

Mapping variables with IMF data.

International Social Survey Programme

The ISSP is a continuing annual program of cross-national collaboration on surveys covering topics important for social science research.

IPUMS

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series

MPI | Immigration Data Hub

Get instant access to the latest immigration statistics, maps, and numbers for the United States and other countries.

Polling the Nations (ND-only)

Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 14,000+ surveys conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

SourceOECD (ND-only)

If you find something on the web that's put out by OECD and you want to get full access, you have to go to SourceOECD.

UN Comtrade

United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database contains more than 1 billion trade records starting from 1962.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics: UNESCO Institute for Statistics (3.14)

Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, culture and communication.

United Nations Statistics Division

 

USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade Database

The USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data to the public full-time and free of charge. 

WHO | Data and statistics

 

World Development Indicators Online

The World Development Indicators (WDI) 2009 is the statistical benchmark that helps measure the progress of development. The WDI provides a comprehensive overview of development drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partners.

Last Update: 13 Apr 13:59 | Tagged with: social science data statistics