Use the following resources to calculate an author's h-index:
- Web of Science - search for an author, and click the "Create Citation Report" link on the right side of the screen:
- Harzig's Publish or Perish (Download required)
- Google Scholar Citations also offers easy access to an author's h-index. You must have a Google account to access this service. Instructions for using Google Scholar Citations are available here.
What's an h-index? An author's h-index gives an indication of the impact of his or her research over time. The h-index is a number that is derived from an author's most cited papers. For a complete description of the h-index, please visit this Wikipedia article: h-index.
Want a good way to track your scholarly output? Create an ORCID ID. "ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized."
Want to learn more?
Here is a short bibliography if you'd like to learn more about journals rankings, citation searching, or the h-index.
- Altbach, Philip G. "The Tyranny of Citations." Inside Higher Ed. Altbach discusses how citation analysis tools have been used for purposes for which they were not designed - assessing individuals.
- Ball, Philip. "A Longer Paper Gathers More Citations." Nature. A short overview of a study that indicates that longer papers are cited more often.
- Hegarty, Peter & Zoe Walton. "The Consequences of Predicting Scientific Impact in Psychology Using Journal Impact Factors." Perspectives on Psychological Science. Article length and gender may affect journal impact factors.
- Joint Committee on Quantitative Assessment of Research. Citation Statistics. This document outlines the the misuse of statistics and bibliometrics in assessing research.
- Meho, Lokman I. The Rise and Rise of Citation Analysis. This paper gives an overview of the history of citation analysis as well as more recent developments.
- Moed, Henk. Citation Analysis in Research Evaluation. This book goes into detail on the mechanics and drawbacks of citation analysis.
- Monastersky, Richard. "The Number That's Devouring Science." The Chronicle of Higher Education. The author outlines many of the drawbacks of using impact factor as an evaluative tool.
Want to find out which journals in your field have the highest impact? There are several sources you can use to determine the impact factor* of various journals:
- Journal Citation Reports
- Eigenfactor (also includes article influence scores*)
- CWTS Journal Indicators (provided by Scopus/Elsevier)
- Journal Quality List (compiles rankings from a variety of sources)
- SCImago Journal & Country Rank
- Australian Research Council Ranked Journal List
- Core Psychology Journals (psychology only)
*What is an Impact Factor? It is a number assigned to journals based on the average number of times articles from each journal are cited. The more times articles from a given journal are cited, the higher its impact factor. Journal publishers have discovered ways to manipulate this number, so take impact factor information with a grain of salt. For a more complete description, read this article in Wikipedia: Impact Factor.
* What is an article influence score? It calculates the relative importance of a journal on a per-article basis. Learn more.
New methods for measuring impact are being developed, including alternative metrics, or "altmetrics". Altmetrics attempts to measure scholarly interactions on the web through social networking sites, blogs, twitter, etc. For more information, read the altmetrics manifesto, visit the "Total Impact" site, or try creating a report yourself using the total-impact.org site.
Read this brief article in the Chronicle of Higher Education for more information on the altmetrics movement.
Other tools to use for altmetrics:
Identifying Journals for Publishing
- Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities: Research Database of Academic Journals - (TRIAL ACCESS UNTIL FEBRUARY 28, 2013) Contains information designed to help researchers and academics match their manuscripts with the scholarly journals which are most likely to publish those manuscripts. For each journal, information on topics, acceptance rate, type of reader, the review process, manuscript style specifiction, etc. is provided.
- MLA Directory - Provides detailed information on over 7,000 periodicals in the humanities. Information includes circulation rates, submission guidelines, editorial contact information, and more.
- Ulrich's Directory - A comprehensive list of current journals in all fields including reviews, contact information, demographics, and more.