Biographies - Subject Specific
- Acta Sanctorum Database. Collection of texts on the lives of the saints from the beginning of the Christian era to the end of the sixteenth century.
- Cardinals of the Holy Roman Church. . Biographies of the 20th century cardinals and of the events and documents concerning the origin of the Roman cardinalate ... [more] and its historic evolution.
- Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists.
- Dictionary of Scientific Biography. This reference source contains biographies of mathematicians and natural scientists from all countries and from all historical periods.
Arts & Humanities
- Literature Resource Center. Provides biographical, bibliographical, and critical content on literary figures from all time periods.
- Oxford Art Online.
- Oxford Music Online -
- International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's Who. . Includes information on countries, territories and federal states; significant international and national organizations; and biographical ... [more] profiles of significant people.
Biographies - General
Biographies - By Geographic Area
- American National Biography. . A standard biographical resource for more than 17,000 notable people in American history.
- Contemporary Hispanic Biography. . Biographies of Latinos and Latinas in the international Hispanic community.
- Dictionary of Irish Biography. Online searchable database corresponding to the Royal Irish Academy/Cambridge University Press's print DIB.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. . The classic, authoritative biographical source for British history.
- Ancestry Library Edition Searchable genealogical information on billions of names across thousands of census and related collections.
- Biography and genealogy master index. Indexes hundreds of biographical sources covering individuals, living and dead, from every field of activity worldwide.
- BlackPast.org. . Provides reference materials on six centuries of African American history. Includes an online encyclopedia of hundreds of famous and lesser known figures in African America.
lesser known figures in African America, full text primary documents and major speeches of black activists and leaders from the 18th century to the present. Links to hundreds of websites covering the history of African Americans, including major black museums and archival research centers in the U.S. and Canada. [less]
- Ellis Island. The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation (SOLEIF) web site for searching immigration records from Ellis Island’s archives.
- Family Search. . An important source for genealogy research maintained by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.
- Genealogy Home Page. An all-in-one resource for genealogy topics.
- Geneaology.com. Online resource for genealogy searches.
- World vital records. Provides genealogy databases and family history networking tools. Includes U.S. content, plus international data like the United Kingdom ... [more] censuses, birth, marriage, and death records, Genealogical Publishing Company, Archive CD Books Australia, the International Newspaper Collection, Immigrant Ships Transcribers Guild, and more.