Irish Studies General Guide

Topics

American news sources for Irish Affairs
Ethnic Newswatch
This database of newspapers of ethnic groups in the United States, many going back to 1990.  This is a very good place to look for American references to Irish dancing and to the Riverdance, and also for Irish-American views on Northern Ireland.
Newspapers: A Research Guide
will help with searching our American newspaper collection.

Fighting Irish
The Notre Dame Archives, on the 6th floor, Hesburgh Library, is the first place to go for information on the history of the Fighting Irish.  The archivists have made a lot of texts and finding aids available online, so a fair amount of research can be done by searching the Archives' website, and also by identifying publications listed there and finding them in the Library.   Good places to begin research:
Full text publications on campus history and reflections
Search Our Collections 
Information for Researchers

Economics:

Econlit: a bibliography of articles on economics.
ESRI: The Economic and Social Research Institute.  Research on Irish economic and social affairs.  The Publications and Irish Economy sections of the website contain many links to online publications.
For books, try typing "Northern Ireland economy" in the Library search box.  Sort the resulting 144 titles by clicking the down arrow at the top of the "Year" column so that the most recent books are shown first.

Songs
The Rare Books Department holds a large collection of broadside ballads from the late nineteenth century.  They are digitized, but not yet published on the Web.  Other digitized collections which are on the Web, include the following:
Bodleian Library Broadside Ballads
Leslie Shepard Ballad Sheets: Irish Traditional Music Archive.

Literature
 
Irish Studies (Articles) Guide  From this guide, the most relevant for authors such as Elizabeth Bowen and Flann O'Brien, might be MLA, JSTOR, Project Muse, Academic Search Premier, Humanities International Index, and Sources.
Another bibliographical source on Irish literature is the annual bibliography produced by IASIL, and published in the Irish University Review (AP 73 .I75 and also online).

 

 

Last Update: 27 Feb 09:52 | Tagged with: Irish Studies Capstone project