Technical Reports

Technical Reports

Technical Report Information on the Web:  All Engineers, Aerospace, Civil, Computer Science, Energy, and Nuclear.

Technical Reports- All Engineers

arXiv.org E-Print Archive
http://arxiv.org/
Formerly known as the Los Alamos (LANL) e-Print archive. E-prints/pre-prints in the fields of Physics, Mathematics, Nonlinear Sciences, and Computer Science. Provides for rapid dissemination of results through direct submission of e-prints by authors.

Contrails Aerospace History- Illinois Institute of Technology This collection consists of rare, declassified technical reports that chronicle their work and reference resources that discuss the history of flight.

EPA Publications Online
http://www.epa.gov/epahome/publications.htm
Environmental Protection Agency's publications online. Current contains scanned images of over 6000 EPA reports.

GrayLIT Network
http://www.osti.gov/graylit/
The GrayLIT Network makes the gray literature of U.S. Federal Agencies easily accessible over the Internet. It taps into the search engines of distributed gray literature collections, enabling the user to find information without first having to know the sponsoring agency.

NASA Spinoff Database
http://www.sti.nasa.gov/tto/spinselect.html
A service of the Technology Transfer Office, this database will help you find products and services that incorporate NASA technology in such areas as environment, public safety, transportation, computer technology, and industrial productivity. Citations refer to the date of the publication, page number, the center responsible for the technology, and the original NASA program in which the technology was developed.

NSCEP/NEPIS - EPA's Gateway to Free Digital & Paper Publications
http://www.epa.gov/nscep/ This site is EPA's premier site for accessing EPA publications, with more than 7,000 in stock and 31,000 digital titles, free of charge.

NTIS
http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx
The NTIS website allows you to search and order technical reports online. Items available include technical reports, CD-ROMs, datafiles, videotapes, and audiocassettes. The National Technical Information Service is the official source for U.S. scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information.

Online Technical Reports at MIT provides links to technical reports produced by MIT departments and labs.

RAND Abstracts
http://www.rand.org/PUBS/index.html
RAND is a non-profit institution that helps improve policy and decision making through research and analysis. It publishes the results of research on issues relating to the national security and public involving most of the major disciplines of the physica, social, and biological sciences.

Science Accelerator 
http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/ Developed by the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), in collaboration with DOD/DTIC, NASA, and EPA, the GrayLIT Network is a portal for technical report information generated through federally funded research and development projects.

Science.gov
http://www.science.gov/index.html Searches over 40 databases and 2,000 websites, offering millions of pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results. Includes specific databases such as:
* DOE Energy Citations Database
* DOE Information Bridge
* DTIC - Defense Technical Information
* NASA Technical Reports Server
* National Service for Environmental Publications (EPA)

SCIRUS
http://www.scirus.com/srsapp/ Allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

Scitopia.org
http://www.scitopia.org/scitopia/ Search for research papers from over 20 leading science & technology societies.

TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library) http://technicalreports.org.proxy.library.nd.edu/trail/search/ Searchable database of U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1975.

University of Washington Statistics Technical Reports
http://www.stat.washington.edu/tech.reports/
University of Washington Statistics department's browsable list of technical reports sorted by publication date.

Virtual Technical Reports Center – University of Maryland  Institutions listed here provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports on the World Wide Web. This site contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.

 

 


 

 Aerospace

NACA Digital Library
http://naca.larc.nasa.gov/
The National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) was the predecessor to NASA. Bibliographic citations to all NACA reports from 1921 to 1958, plus full-text access to a growing number of items can be searched at the NTRS. (see next entry)

NASA Spinoff Database
http://www.sti.nasa.gov/tto/spinselect.html
A service of the Technology Transfer Office, this database will help you find products and services that incorporate NASA technology in such areas as environment, public safety, transportation, computer technology, and industrial productivity. Citations refer to the date of the publication, page number, the center responsible for the technology, and the original NASA program in which the technology was developed.

NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server
http://ntrs.nasa.gov
The NASA Technical Reports Server provides researchers access to the documents in NASA's Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program. These include research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, mission-related operational documents, and preliminary data. NTRS also collects scientific and technical information from sites external to NASA to broaden the scope of information available to users. NTRS's Simple Search searches for NASA information only and its Advanced Search can search for NASA and non-NASA information.


Civil Engineering

 ASCE Civil Engineering Database  Search this database to find information in all areas of Civil Engineering in journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters that are published by the ASCE.

DIESELNET Online information service for clean diesel engines and diesel emissions. 

Earthquake Engineering Online Archive - NISEE An e-library of significant, publically-funded, full-text literature, images, data, and software in structural and geotechnical earthquake engineering.

Transportation Research Board's Research in Progress (RiP) Database
The RiP database contains over 8400 current or recently completed transportation research projects. Most of the RiP records are projects funded by Federal and State Departments of Transportation. University transportation research is also included. The RiP Database now serves as a clearinghouse of University Transportation Centers ongoing research.

TRID Online
TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide. 

 


 

 Computer Science and Engineering

The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
http://liinwww.ira.uka.de/bibliography/index.html
This is a collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science. The about 1200 bibliographies are updated monthly from their original locations such that you'll always find the most recent versions here.

Computer Science Technical Reports Archive Sites
http://www.dai.ed.ac.uk/research/siteslist.html
Rik Harris's comprehensive list of sites that appear to distribute technical reports.

Computing Research Repository- Online repository of papers sponsored by ACM, the arXiv.org e-Print archive, NCSTRL (Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library), and AAAI (Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence). http://arxiv.org/corr/home

Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
http://www.acm.org/corr/
An online repository for computing research and reports. This repository is a cooperative venture of the ACM, the Los Alamos e-Print archive, and NCSTRL.

NCSTRL - Networked Computer Science Technical Reports Library
http://www.ncstrl.org/
NCSTRL (pronounced "ancestral") is an international collection of computer science technical reports from CS departments and industrial and government research laboratories. The NCSTRL collection is distributed among a set of interoperating servers operated by participating institutions. You may search for and access documents from the distributed collection.

Science:Computer Science:Technical Reports - Yahoo
http://www.yahoo.com/Science/Computer_Science/Technical_Reports/
Yahoo's collection of technical report sites.

University of Washington CS&E Technical Reports
http://www.cs.washington.edu/research/tr/techreports.html
University of Washington Computer Science and Engineering department's browsable list of technical reports sorted by publication date, author or title.

 


 

 Energy

DOE Energy Citations Database http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/ contains energy and energy?related scientific and technical information collected by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) primarily from 1943 forward.

DOE Green Energy http://www.osti.gov/greenenergy/ portal to information about various forms of green energy, including solar, wind, bioenergy, and others.

DOE Information Bridge
http://www.osti.gov/bridge
The Department of Energy database containing full text for Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored scientific and technical reports back to 1995.

Energy Files: Virtual Library of Energy Science and Technology
http://www.osti.gov/EnergyFiles/
Sponsored, developed, and maintained by the Department of Energy’s Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) under the auspices of the Department’s Scientific and Technical Information Program, EnergyFiles provides information, tools, and technologies to facilitate the use of scientific resources and capabilities in planning and conducting energy-related research.

Science Accelerator 
http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/ Developed by the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), in collaboration with DOD/DTIC, NASA, and EPA, the GrayLIT Network is a portal for technical report information generated through federally funded research and development projects.

 


 

 Nuclear Engineering

INIS DATABASE
The International Nuclear Information System database contains over 3 million bibliographic records and almost 200,000 full-text nonconventional documents, consisting of scientific and technical reports and other non-copyrighted information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. It is a product of the International Atomic Energy Agency 

Los Alamos Technical Reports site -- In 2002, the Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) terminated public access to thousands of unclassified reports on nuclear science and technology. Fortunately, almost all of the withdrawn reports were acquired and preserved so that the public has access to them.

 


Last Update: 11 Mar 12:17 | Tagged with: technical reports